Tags

, , , , , , , ,

 

MBLAQ is a 5-member boy band. Out of all the boy bands in Korea, I would say that they are another group that falls under the category of jimseungdol boys, just like 2PM. Although 2PM’s image relies much more on this concept, MBLAQ is one of the bands that can be most closely compared to them in this aspect. They all have very well-toned bodies and a few of them regularly show them. Many of their music videos have them showing off their masculinity via their bodies.

“This Is War” is a slightly different type of music video than others we have watched thus far. Some Korean music videos are longer than the actual songs are, and are made that way to try and tell a deeper story. Instead of just having a song and a choreographed dance to go along with it, groups have entire stories that they act out in attempts to visually display the lyrics that are being sung. This is a 5 and a half minute video, but the song itself is much shorter than that.

This song and video has a typical theme that we see in other music videos, movies, television shows, etc.: 2 guys fighting over the same girl. Even though this is a K-Pop video and the boys are wearing a lot of makeup and are wearing a good deal of accessorized clothing, this is one of the most common masculine themes out there. Men fighting with each other, using violence, weapons, destroying friendships; all for the sake of a girl. The girl in this video starts out as one of their girlfriends, but after getting shot and staying at the other’s house, she falls in love with his friend. They then both declare that it’s war; they are going to fight for her no matter what it takes.

Although one can assume what is going on in the video by just watching it, I thought that it would be helpful to look at the English translation of the lyrics as well.

Shut up, I don’t even wanna hear it
Beg until your tears dry up
I will see the end of this, just watch
You messed with the wrong person

We were in love and I only had her
But why, why did you touch my girl – no way

I brush myself off and get up
As much as I suffered, you just watch
You mess with love, you mess with friendship – just watch

Just at the thought of you, my body shakes
I can’t forgive you – from now on –

It’s war, you coward – just watch
You made her cry again
You coward, you, who messed with my love
It’s war

On the day she left, you pretended not to know and told me to forget it all
I trusted you, you were my friend – how could you do this to me
I will curse you from now on

Will you please shut that dirty mouth
I will give back these painful tears to you
Engrave this in your ear – I will never leave you alone

You probably knew that I would find out sometime
I can’t forgive you – from now on –

* It’s war, you coward – just watch
You made her cry again
You coward, you just watch – you made her cry again
(Don’t you cry cry cry) She’s crying because of you again
(She said bye bye bye bye bye) It’s all over now
(Don’t you cry cry cry)
You, who messed with my love – It’s war

* repeat

Lyrics from http://www.lyricsts.com/2012/01/mblaq-its-war-lyrics-english.html

The lyrics show just how mad men can get when they are betrayed by a friend, especially over something like a girl. Not only are they angry because the other one wants the girl, but also because they just want her to be safe and happy.

In the end, one of them gets so jealous and angry that he thinks the answer is to use a gun to solve the problem. However, the bullet intended for his friend ends up turning around, hitting him and subsequently taking his own life. Is this is ultimate gesture of male feelings? Showing the woman that you love that you would die for her? It seems to be a common theme.

Another interesting thing that I picked up on in this video is that when the entire group is shown during the dance routine, they are all wearing all black. I think that this not only adds to the more serious and depressing feeling of the song, but it also brings out their masculinity. Black is probably considered one of the most masculine colors, and along with their punching, tantrum-like dance moves, the boys look very upset and look like they are ready for war.