Tags

, , , , , , ,

As stated previously in my post titled “Balloons!,” DBSK split into two groups in 2009 due to a dispute with their management company. The two groups that resulted were TVXQ (an acronym for the Chinese symbols; the same meaning as DBSK) and JYJ. Here I would like to present a video done by each group.

 

JYJ’s “In Heaven” has a close resemblance to FT Island’s “Severely” video that we just looked at. His girlfriend dies by being hit by a car. She somehow comes back, he gets to relive the past 3 years with her and he gets a second chance to save her. Except in the end of this one, they both end up dying. Lovely, I know. Member Junsu is the one featured in the video. The song has a very ballad feel, which fits with what the song is about. A lot of what JYJ has done has been more ballad-type songs. I think that this video displays the masculine characteristic of protectiveness; Junsu has to do everything in his power to save his girlfriend. He feels that as her boyfriend, he has that opportunity and that obligation. Also, simply the way in which Junsu is dressed and the type of job he has shows his masculine identity.

 

 

TVXQ’s most popular song, on the other hand, is extremely upbeat and forceful. Titled “Keep Your Head Down (“왜” or “wae”), TVXQ shows different aspects of traditional masculinity then we see in JYJ’s video. We see Yunho with the ability to control fire and Changmin with the ability to control light. Wow. That’s pretty cool. I’m not quite sure about the low-cut jacket that Changmin is wearing. This goes back to the conversation we had earlier about SS501. Do you think showing just parts of the male body is masculine? Also, I find the suits that they are wearing at the end (the ones that look like owl eyes) to be very interesting. While I don’t think they look feminine, I also don’t think they especially look masculine. But, the visual interest adds to the fun of the video. I found a review of the video on a blog titled One Song at a Time, which I found really accurate and interesting. Here is a short excerpt from the blog about the dance and clothing in the video:

Despite Yunho and Changmin having to pull off a manly, powerful image, they put a spin on it by incorporating unique costumes and intricate backgrounds. The portions of the MV that cut to the white background are shocking (personally I was a bit thrown off by the outfits that they were wearing), but give a brighter, futuristic touch to an overall dark MV. As expected with a powerful song, there has to be powerful choreography to go along with it! I really hope for a dance version of the MV to be released sometime in the future so I can see everything better, but for the time being, I like how their moves are sharp at certain points and powerful (I guess you can call it krumping, especially by Yunho.)

Both JYJ and TVXQ’s videos show aspects of Korean masculinity, as we can see, but in very different ways.

