Tags

, ,

If you haven’t read many of my posts, I would recommend going back and starting from the beginning. By reading them oldest to newest, they will make the most sense. I reference things that I have previously talked about in some posts and I think you will enjoy it more if you read it that way.

I hope that you all have enjoyed my Capstone blog. I know that I have really enjoyed doing it. It was a lot of fun having the opportunity to write about something that I am really interested in and intrigued by, while at the same time applying communication theories, research, and other people’s opinions to it.

I have heard from many people that there is simply something that sets Korean music apart. It doesn’t matter if you understand the language; the beat and feel of the music draws you in and keeps you wanting more. I hope this has become true for you as well.

I want to leave you with one thought: all that we have looked at here are professional, formal music videos. K-Pop stars also do many appearances on reality and variety shows, and some even have their own shows. Groups can take on an entirely different persona on these shows than they can in their music videos. In their music videos, they are more like actors, portraying characters that are not necessarily like themselves. However, on these shows, they can act more like their true selves and show fans more of who they really are. I think that that is an important thing to remember when analyzing K-Pop and the groups within it. Below are a few clips of different bands on some shows. After watching them, do your perceptions or opinions about their masculinity change at all? Food for thought.

Infinite:

 

FT Island:

 

Big Bang:  

 

MBLAQ: 

 

2PM:

 

